Author Topic: How to set up Hammer editor for Cry of Fear  (Read 21076 times)

ZikShadow

  • Member
  • Posts: 1799
  • Somehow, i'm still alive.
    • View Profile
Re: How to set up Hammer editor for Cry of Fear
« Reply #15 on: 06 May, 2014, 10:34:26 PM »
You could've created something if you would just try to learn and experiment instead of asking for help and waiting an entire year for an answer.

Dozens of tutorials explaining both Hammer and it's properties and you're still confused on the F9 button?

The F9 button is used to compile maps, i have no idea what is wrong with your VHE about that prefab problem you're having.

theengineertcr

  • Donator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: How to set up Hammer editor for Cry of Fear
« Reply #16 on: 11 May, 2016, 01:55:24 AM »
I also seem to be having an issue with the compilation and launching the map ingame. It can't find "pro.wad" or something. Don't think I'll get a response soon so I'll try my best I guess  :wheelchair:

ZikShadow

  • Member
  • Posts: 1799
  • Somehow, i'm still alive.
    • View Profile
Re: How to set up Hammer editor for Cry of Fear
« Reply #17 on: 11 May, 2016, 02:12:34 AM »
I also seem to be having an issue with the compilation and launching the map ingame. It can't find "pro.wad" or something. Don't think I'll get a response soon so I'll try my best I guess  :wheelchair:

I'm guessing you are using a texture in the pro.wad?
You need to put the "pro.wad" itself inside the "cryoffear" folder to get it to run.

If i recalled correctly, there was some settings to make the textures be independent and have the .bsps include the textures without the use of .wads.

Post Post Edit : Found it!

theengineertcr

  • Donator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: How to set up Hammer editor for Cry of Fear
« Reply #18 on: 11 May, 2016, 09:30:31 PM »
It's giving me the access denied error.


** Executing...
** Command: Change Directory
** Parameters: D:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\Cry of Fear\cryoffearexedir

* Could not execute the command:
   Change Directory D:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\Cry of Fear\cryoffearexedir
* Windows gave the error message:
   "Access is denied."


** Executing...
** Command: Copy File
** Parameters: c:\wads\COF_TE~1.bsp C:\Users\user\Desktop\Games\alternatetale\maps\COF_TE~1.bsp

* Could not execute the command:
   Copy File c:\wads\COF_TE~1.bsp C:\Users\user\Desktop\Games\alternatetale\maps\COF_TE~1.bsp
* Windows gave the error message:
   "Access is denied."

Another thing is that I don't have a "Pro.wad" anywhere added in my texture wads so this is really odd.

Edit:Map works! Looks like even if I do get these access denied it still compiles. Thanks dude!
« Last Edit: 11 May, 2016, 09:36:43 PM by theengineertcr »

ZikShadow

  • Member
  • Posts: 1799
  • Somehow, i'm still alive.
    • View Profile
Re: How to set up Hammer editor for Cry of Fear
« Reply #19 on: 11 May, 2016, 11:57:11 PM »
No idea what that could be.

Something to keep in mind though, it's usually a VERY good idea to keep your Hammer/Maps/Settings to have as little folder names between them as possible, with no spaces if possible.

Phillip from RTSL did a GoldSource Level Design Academy here, it's not particularly for Cry of Fear, but a lot of the basics are very similar.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUfl3ZixfWw

mrpeanut188

  • Donator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 803
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: How to set up Hammer editor for Cry of Fear
« Reply #20 on: 16 May, 2016, 07:39:33 AM »
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUfl3ZixfWw
Knew most of it, but I just got finished watching a lot of it. I've been someone who always overlaps the ceilings over the walls, but after seeing this video, no longer!
You should've stopped when you lost the advantage.


theengineertcr

  • Donator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: How to set up Hammer editor for Cry of Fear
« Reply #21 on: 18 May, 2016, 01:23:24 AM »
No idea what that could be.

Something to keep in mind though, it's usually a VERY good idea to keep your Hammer/Maps/Settings to have as little folder names between them as possible, with no spaces if possible.

Phillip from RTSL did a GoldSource Level Design Academy here, it's not particularly for Cry of Fear, but a lot of the basics are very similar.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUfl3ZixfWw

Thanks for the tutorial! Have another issue with mapping now though, Max Map MipText. The tutorial maps that come in the SDK (specifically suicide 3) don't compile due to that error. I'm trying to take the Co-op stats, bad end and good end scenes to implement them in my suicide map but this error isn't allowing me to compile it and get it over with. Any idea how to fix this? Merging textures isn't what I want to do nor is it something I know how to do. If the developers could get the maps to compile, why can't I? I'm using Hammer 3.5 and I've heard of Jack Hammer but I'm not sure if it's better.

ZikShadow

  • Member
  • Posts: 1799
  • Somehow, i'm still alive.
    • View Profile
Re: How to set up Hammer editor for Cry of Fear
« Reply #22 on: 18 May, 2016, 03:13:11 AM »
Thanks for the tutorial! Have another issue with mapping now though, Max Map MipText. The tutorial maps that come in the SDK (specifically suicide 3) don't compile due to that error. I'm trying to take the Co-op stats, bad end and good end scenes to implement them in my suicide map but this error isn't allowing me to compile it and get it over with. Any idea how to fix this? Merging textures isn't what I want to do nor is it something I know how to do. If the developers could get the maps to compile, why can't I? I'm using Hammer 3.5 and I've heard of Jack Hammer but I'm not sure if it's better.

Could it be the compiler?
Or the settings?

What tools/settings are you using?

Classic VHE ones or the custom ones from the SDK?
Maybe try other tools like the one in the LDA link?

theengineertcr

  • Donator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: How to set up Hammer editor for Cry of Fear
« Reply #23 on: 18 May, 2016, 06:52:53 AM »
Could it be the compiler?
Or the settings?

What tools/settings are you using?

Classic VHE ones or the custom ones from the SDK?
Maybe try other tools like the one in the LDA link?

I'm going to try the Batch compiler but I'm not sure if it'll work. I'm using the settings you showed me and have set everything up to the Cry of Fear SDK.

Edit: Worked, crashed when I tried to open it in game. I keep getting these warnings of "larger than expected texture(s)" and about how it's not finding textures in the LoadLump() and FindTexture(). Odd really.
« Last Edit: 18 May, 2016, 07:07:36 AM by theengineertcr »

Ata

  • Fresh One
  • Posts: 1
  • green the best
    • AOL Instant Messenger - Ata
    • View Profile
Re: How to set up Hammer editor for Cry of Fear
« Reply #24 on: 17 November, 2018, 12:34:43 AM »
i just wanted to ask what do you replace the game data files and the other stuf when the tutorial was made when it was a mod
[(#-Ata-#)]