Author Topic: Co-op Server browser  (Read 61067 times)

ruMpel

  • Lead & Level/General Artist
  • CoF Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1161
    • View Profile
    • Cry of Fear
    • Email
Co-op Server browser
« on: 19 May, 2013, 12:17:41 AM »
So it seems like the server browser problem we have in Cry of Fear is caused by the fact that we don't have any master server. There are tons of servers for CoF, but they are not displayed in the server browser. Here you can find a list of the servers: http://www.game-monitor.com/GameSearch/cryoffear/Cry_of_Fear.html

We have tried to resolve this problem with no success. So I'm going to try and reach out to you, the community, to help out with setting this up! So please leave a comment in this thread, and let's try and figure this out together!

So far, you need a master server: http://hlmaster.sourceforge.net/

And we also found out that you need these files from Half-Life/valve folder:

steamcomm.lst
valvecomm.lst
steam.inf

Comment guys!

ruMpel

  • Lead & Level/General Artist
  • CoF Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1161
    • View Profile
    • Cry of Fear
    • Email
Re: Co-op Server browser
« Reply #1 on: 19 May, 2013, 01:50:15 AM »
Any ideas?

kennythevblog

  • Donator
  • Fresh One
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Co-op Server browser
« Reply #2 on: 19 May, 2013, 01:54:53 AM »
Have you brought the issue up with Valve?
Maybe they could help.

Also, i hardly see any servers on this particular server browser. (http://www.game-monitor.com/GameSearch/cryoffear/Cry_of_Fear.html)
There are only like 2 at the moment, and i'd particularly like to play Coop on the Standalone sometime soon.
« Last Edit: 19 May, 2013, 01:58:53 AM by kennythevblog »

bzt

  • Member
  • Posts: 1144
  • Iím a liar-entertained.
    • View Profile
Re: Co-op Server browser
« Reply #3 on: 19 May, 2013, 02:12:41 AM »
So it seems like the server browser problem we have in Cry of Fear is caused by the fact that we don't have any master server. There are tons of servers for CoF, but they are not displayed in the server browser. Here you can find a list of the servers: http://www.game-monitor.com/GameSearch/cryoffear/Cry_of_Fear.html

We have tried to resolve this problem with no success. So I'm going to try and reach out to you, the community, to help out with setting this up! So please leave a comment in this thread, and let's try and figure this out together!

So far, you need a master server: http://hlmaster.sourceforge.net/

And we also found out that you need these files from Half-Life/valve folder:

steamcomm.lst
valvecomm.lst
steam.inf

Comment guys!

You could use this site to send a co-op list to the clients.
Do you have more info about this? Could be really useful
Nope.

Boomsicle

  • Donator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2222
  • Avatar and signature can get old, so why bother?
    • View Profile
    • Steam (Boomsicle)
Re: Co-op Server browser
« Reply #4 on: 19 May, 2013, 02:13:08 AM »
You said you tried to resolve the problem...

Could you elaborate?
:slower3:

ruMpel

  • Lead & Level/General Artist
  • CoF Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1161
    • View Profile
    • Cry of Fear
    • Email
Re: Co-op Server browser
« Reply #5 on: 19 May, 2013, 02:35:30 AM »
So James and I tried to resolve this by:

1. Contacting Valve. They said to place steam.inf in the Cry Of Fear/cryoffear folder, and change the file to say:

PatchVersion=1.0.0.0
ProductName=cryoffear

That's the only thing they said. We tried it, but it still didn't work.

2. Placing steamcomm.lst, valvecomm.lst from the Half-Life/valve folder to the Cry Of Fear/cryoffear folder.

3. Trying to host a server and see if it appears in the LAN list in the server browser. The server appears if you do that in Half-Life, but not in Cry of Fear.

4. Tried to do the console command "heartbeat" to force the server to appear in the LAN list, nothing happened.

5. Have not tried to create any master server yet, because James and I have no server hosting experiences. We don't know how to create dedicated servers properly. We only know how to create listen servers, or dedicated servers through the dedicated server tool in Steam.

Boomsicle

  • Donator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2222
  • Avatar and signature can get old, so why bother?
    • View Profile
    • Steam (Boomsicle)
Re: Co-op Server browser
« Reply #6 on: 19 May, 2013, 02:46:59 AM »
Have you tried to use the application in the hlmaster zip file called "INSTALL"?

:slower3:

ruMpel

  • Lead & Level/General Artist
  • CoF Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1161
    • View Profile
    • Cry of Fear
    • Email
Re: Co-op Server browser
« Reply #7 on: 19 May, 2013, 02:51:49 AM »
That's a .txt file with instructions. Anyone here who wants to give it a shot?

I'll give you the mapper and donator status if you manage to solve it! :stig:

Fox Powers

  • Member
  • Posts: 1147
  • otherwise known as foxy
    • View Profile
Re: Co-op Server browser
« Reply #8 on: 19 May, 2013, 02:55:51 AM »
That's a .txt file with instructions. Anyone here who wants to give it a shot?

I'll give you the mapper and donator status if you manage to solve it! :stig:
Got this, does it help?

Basic Installation
==================

   These are generic installation instructions.

   The `configure' shell script attempts to guess correct values for
various system-dependent variables used during compilation.  It uses
those values to create a `Makefile' in each directory of the package.
It may also create one or more `.h' files containing system-dependent
definitions.  Finally, it creates a shell script `config.status' that
you can run in the future to recreate the current configuration, a file
`config.cache' that saves the results of its tests to speed up
reconfiguring, and a file `config.log' containing compiler output
(useful mainly for debugging `configure').

   If you need to do unusual things to compile the package, please try
to figure out how `configure' could check whether to do them, and mail
diffs or instructions to the address given in the `README' so they can
be considered for the next release.  If at some point `config.cache'
contains results you don't want to keep, you may remove or edit it.

   The file `configure.in' is used to create `configure' by a program
called `autoconf'.  You only need `configure.in' if you want to change
it or regenerate `configure' using a newer version of `autoconf'.

The simplest way to compile this package is:

  1. `cd' to the directory containing the package's source code and type
     `./configure' to configure the package for your system.  If you're
     using `csh' on an old version of System V, you might need to type
     `sh ./configure' instead to prevent `csh' from trying to execute
     `configure' itself.

     Running `configure' takes a while.  While running, it prints some
     messages telling which features it is checking for.

  2. Type `make' to compile the package.

  3. Optionally, type `make check' to run any self-tests that come with
     the package.

  4. Type `make install' to install the programs and any data files and
     documentation.

  5. You can remove the program binaries and object files from the
     source code directory by typing `make clean'.  To also remove the
     files that `configure' created (so you can compile the package for
     a different kind of computer), type `make distclean'.  There is
     also a `make maintainer-clean' target, but that is intended mainly
     for the package's developers.  If you use it, you may have to get
     all sorts of other programs in order to regenerate files that came
     with the distribution.

Compilers and Options
=====================

   Some systems require unusual options for compilation or linking that
the `configure' script does not know about.  You can give `configure'
initial values for variables by setting them in the environment.  Using
a Bourne-compatible shell, you can do that on the command line like
this:
     CC=c89 CFLAGS=-O2 LIBS=-lposix ./configure

Or on systems that have the `env' program, you can do it like this:
     env CPPFLAGS=-I/usr/local/include LDFLAGS=-s ./configure

Compiling For Multiple Architectures
====================================

   You can compile the package for more than one kind of computer at the
same time, by placing the object files for each architecture in their
own directory.  To do this, you must use a version of `make' that
supports the `VPATH' variable, such as GNU `make'.  `cd' to the
directory where you want the object files and executables to go and run
the `configure' script.  `configure' automatically checks for the
source code in the directory that `configure' is in and in `..'.

   If you have to use a `make' that does not supports the `VPATH'
variable, you have to compile the package for one architecture at a time
in the source code directory.  After you have installed the package for
one architecture, use `make distclean' before reconfiguring for another
architecture.

Installation Names
==================

   By default, `make install' will install the package's files in
`/usr/local/bin', `/usr/local/man', etc.  You can specify an
installation prefix other than `/usr/local' by giving `configure' the
option `--prefix=PATH'.

   You can specify separate installation prefixes for
architecture-specific files and architecture-independent files.  If you
give `configure' the option `--exec-prefix=PATH', the package will use
PATH as the prefix for installing programs and libraries.
Documentation and other data files will still use the regular prefix.

   If the package supports it, you can cause programs to be installed
with an extra prefix or suffix on their names by giving `configure' the
option `--program-prefix=PREFIX' or `--program-suffix=SUFFIX'.

Optional Features
=================

   Some packages pay attention to `--enable-FEATURE' options to
`configure', where FEATURE indicates an optional part of the package.
They may also pay attention to `--with-PACKAGE' options, where PACKAGE
is something like `gnu-as' or `x' (for the X Window System).  The
`README' should mention any `--enable-' and `--with-' options that the
package recognizes.

   For packages that use the X Window System, `configure' can usually
find the X include and library files automatically, but if it doesn't,
you can use the `configure' options `--x-includes=DIR' and
`--x-libraries=DIR' to specify their locations.

Specifying the System Type
==========================

   There may be some features `configure' can not figure out
automatically, but needs to determine by the type of host the package
will run on.  Usually `configure' can figure that out, but if it prints
a message saying it can not guess the host type, give it the
`--host=TYPE' option.  TYPE can either be a short name for the system
type, such as `sun4', or a canonical name with three fields:
     CPU-COMPANY-SYSTEM

See the file `config.sub' for the possible values of each field.  If
`config.sub' isn't included in this package, then this package doesn't
need to know the host type.

   If you are building compiler tools for cross-compiling, you can also
use the `--target=TYPE' option to select the type of system they will
produce code for and the `--build=TYPE' option to select the type of
system on which you are compiling the package.

Sharing Defaults
================

   If you want to set default values for `configure' scripts to share,
you can create a site shell script called `config.site' that gives
default values for variables like `CC', `cache_file', and `prefix'.
`configure' looks for `PREFIX/share/config.site' if it exists, then
`PREFIX/etc/config.site' if it exists.  Or, you can set the
`CONFIG_SITE' environment variable to the location of the site script.
A warning: not all `configure' scripts look for a site script.

Operation Controls
==================

   `configure' recognizes the following options to control how it
operates.

`--cache-file=FILE'
     Use and save the results of the tests in FILE instead of
     `./config.cache'.  Set FILE to `/dev/null' to disable caching, for
     debugging `configure'.

`--help'
     Print a summary of the options to `configure', and exit.

`--quiet'
`--silent'
`-q'
     Do not print messages saying which checks are being made.  To
     suppress all normal output, redirect it to `/dev/null' (any error
     messages will still be shown).

`--srcdir=DIR'
     Look for the package's source code in directory DIR.  Usually
     `configure' can determine that directory automatically.

`--version'
     Print the version of Autoconf used to generate the `configure'
     script, and exit.

`configure' also accepts some other, not widely useful, options.

Now give me mah TMP and Mp5 RIGHT NAO :joebiden:

‌‌‌‌‌goner

  • Member
  • Posts: 407
    • View Profile
Re: Co-op Server browser
« Reply #9 on: 19 May, 2013, 03:04:50 AM »
Pirated Half-Life (And all Valve MP Games) come with a MasterServer.vdf file and in that file is an ip address to a Master Server that displays cracked servers.

The original MasterServer.vdf file is located at C:\Program Files\Steam\config\

maybe that has something to do with the problem.

EDIT: Looks like there's a file called MasterServer2.vdf that is exactly the same.
« Last Edit: 19 May, 2013, 03:06:23 AM by ‌‌‌‌‌goner »

there was a duck named steve who liked to eat cheese and peas and plant magical seeds whilst swilling mead

Purple "Porygon" Towel

  • Donator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 518
  • Currently Playing: Skyrim, Watching: Soul Eater
    • View Profile
    • My Steam Page...
    • Email
Re: Co-op Server browser
« Reply #10 on: 19 May, 2013, 03:38:59 AM »

I'll give you the mapper and donator status if you manage to solve it! :stig:

That's a bit of a steep offer, but even if I knew how to help, I wouldn't take it. I never do things the easy way :joebiden: .
I've  had little experience setting up multiplayer games, and generally hate them because either everyone else is hacking doing better or hacking they flat out suck. Therefor, I regret being unable to help  :( .
In between disappearing off to RPG gaming sessions and KAWAII DESU BULLSHIT ANIME binges, I tend to log in once in a while...

Boomsicle

  • Donator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2222
  • Avatar and signature can get old, so why bother?
    • View Profile
    • Steam (Boomsicle)
Re: Co-op Server browser
« Reply #11 on: 19 May, 2013, 03:50:31 AM »
Well I just ran version in the console and it came out with exe version 1.0.1.4.

So try changing the PatchVersion in steam.inf to 1.0.1.4.
:slower3:

John Flleming

  • Member
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Co-op Server browser
« Reply #12 on: 19 May, 2013, 03:55:14 AM »
This might help!

http://cs.rin.ru/forum/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=53996

1.You have to register your master
2.create fake servers where the client get packet from your master (Needed HLServer1.7 or any program which creates fake server)

If it works, I want my donator and mapper status  :yow:

ruMpel

  • Lead & Level/General Artist
  • CoF Team
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1161
    • View Profile
    • Cry of Fear
    • Email
Re: Co-op Server browser
« Reply #13 on: 19 May, 2013, 04:21:19 AM »
Anyone can try this to see if it's working, doesn't need any code or anything. So go ahead and try it!

Keep up with the comments, you're doing great!

Thanks!

John Flleming

  • Member
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Co-op Server browser
« Reply #14 on: 19 May, 2013, 04:34:41 AM »
Anyone can try this to see if it's working, doesn't need any code or anything. So go ahead and try it!

Keep up with the comments, you're doing great!

Thanks!

Rumpel, I have tried this on one of my HL 1 mods and it works perfectly, give it a go!